Text only Text size: A A A Display: Default / High contrast
Blood Pressure
Medical Schools Council Members 
The membership of the Medical Schools Council (starting with the Executive Committee*):
  Professor Jenny Higham
St George's, University of London
Elected Chair

Executive Committee

Professor John Iredale
Pro Vice-Chancellor for Health
University of Bristol
Deputy Chair

Executive Committee


Professor David Burn
Pro-Vice Chancellor of Medical Sciences
Faculty of Medical Sciences
Newcastle University
Research Sub-Committee


Professor John Atherton
Executive Dean
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
The University of Nottingham
Research Sub-Committee

Executive Committee


Professor Gary Mires
School of Medicine
University of Dundee
Education Sub-Committee
  Professor Iain Cameron
Faculty of Medicine
University of Southampton
Education Sub-Committee
  Professor David Adams
College of Medical and Dental Sciences
University of Birmingham
Clinical Staffing Sub-Committee
Professor Andy Hassell
Head of School of Medicine
Keele University
Education Sub-Committee
Professor Sir Nick Black
Professor of Health Services Research
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Research Sub-Committee


Professor Christopher Kennard
Interim Head of Medical Sciences Division
University of Oxford
Education Sub-Committee

Professor Malcolm Reed
Brighton and Sussex Medical School
University of Sussex
Executive Committee

Chair, Education Sub- Committee
  Professor Paul Stewart
Dean of Medicine
University of Leeds
Executive Committee

Chair, Research Sub-Committee


Professor Michael Frenneaux
Norwich Medical School (UEA)
Clinical Staffing Sub-Committee


Professor David Lomas
Vice-Provost Health
University College London

Professor Dame Anna Dominiczak
Regius Professor of Medicine and Head of College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences
University of Glasgow
Executive Committee

Clinical Staffing Sub-Committee
  Professor Marina Anderson
Acting Head of the School of Medicine
University of Liverpool
Education Sub-Committee


Professor Gavin Screaton
Dean of the Faculty of Medicine
Imperial College London
Professor Moira Whyte
Professor of Respiratory Medicine
University of Edinburgh
Education Sub-Committee


Professor Ian Greer
Vice President and Dean
Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences
University of Manchester
Research Sub-Committee
  Professor Pascal McKeown
Acting Dean
School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences
Queen's University Belfast
Education Sub-Committee


Professor Una Macleod
Hull York Medical School
Education Sub-Committee


Professor Richard Trembath
Executive Dean
Faculty of Life Science & Medicine
King's College London
Research Sub-Committee

Professor David Crossman
Dean of Medicine
Bute Medical School
University of St Andrews
Executive Committee

Chair, Clinical Staffing Sub-Committee

Professor Keith Lloyd
Swansea University Medical School
Education Sub-Committee
  Professor Ian Weeks
Interim Dean
School of Medicine
Cardiff University
Clinical Staffing Sub-Committee
Professor Steven Heys
Head of School of Medicine and R&D Director
University of Aberdeen
Clinical Staffing Sub-Committee
  Professor Patrick Maxwell
Regius Professor of Physic
School of Clinical Medicine
University of Cambridge
Research Sub-Committee

Professor Robert Sneyd
Plymouth University Peninsula Schools of Medicine and Dentistry
Clinical Staffing Sub-Committee


Professor Clive Ballard
University of Exeter Medical School 

Clinical staffing Sub-Committee


Professor Dame Pamela Shaw
Professor of Neurology
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health
University of Sheffield
Research Sub-Committee  

Professor Sudhesh Kumar
Warwick Medical School
The University of Warwick
Clinical Staffing Sub-Committee
  Professor Philip Baker
Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of the College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology
University of Leicester
Clinical Staffing Sub-Committee

Professor Neil Johnson
Faculty of Health and Medicine
Lancaster University
Education Sub-Committee  
Professor Steve Thornton
Vice Principal (Health) and Executive Dean
Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry
Education Sub-Committee

* The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Council usually meets 6 times a year before Council meetings to steer the work of the Council.

The Committee consists of the three Officers of the Council and five elected members, including the Chair of the Scottish Deans Group.  Additional members may also be co-opted to the Executive Committee.                                                

Medical Schools Council
Medical Schools Council - Woburn House, 20 Tavistock Square, London, WC1H 9HD
Tel: +44 (0)20 7419 5494 | Fax: +44 (0)20 7380 1482 | Email: admin@medschools.ac.uk
Company No. 8817383, limited by guarantee and registered in England and Wales
Registered Charity No. 1155370